was successfully added to your cart.



The Outstanding Chapter Awards 2016-17

By February 9, 2018 No Comments








The IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu (IEEE-HKN) Board of Governors has conferred on the following IEEE-HKN Chapters the 2016-2017 IEEE-HKN Outstanding Chapter Award:


Chapter Name University
Alpha Chapter University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Beta Alpha Chapter Drexel University
Beta Chapter Purdue University
Beta Epsilon Chapter University of Michigan
Beta Kappa Chapter Kansas State University
Beta Lambda Chapter Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Beta Omega Chapter University of Connecticut
Beta Theta Chapter Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Delta Epsilon Chapter Ohio University
Delta Omega Chapter University of Hawaii at Manoa
Gamma Delta Chapter Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Gamma Tau Chapter North Dakota State University
Gamma Theta Chapter Missouri University of Science and Technology
Iota Chi Chapter Oakland University
Iota Gamma Chapter University of California, Los Angeles
Iota Zeta Chapter California State University, Chico
Kappa Psi Chapter University of California, San Diego
Lambda Sigma Chapter University of California, Riverside
Mu Alpha Chapter UCSI University
Mu Chapter University of California, Berkeley
Mu Iota Chapter Seattle University
Mu Nu Chapter Politecnico di Torino
Nu Chapter Iowa State University
Zeta Beta Chapter Texas A&M University – Kingsville

This award is presented to IEEE-HKN Chapters in recognition of excellence in their Chapter administration and programs. Service to the community and others is an expectation of IEEE-HKN Chapters.

Recipients are selected on the basis of their annual Chapter report. Winning Chapter reports showcase their Chapter’s activities in an individualized manner and provide multiple views and instances of their work, which really brings their Chapter’s activities to life. Of critical concern to the Outstanding Chapter Awards evaluation committee in judging a Chapter are activities to: improve professional development; raise instructional and institutional standards; encourage scholarship and creativity; provide a public service; and generally further the established goals of IEEE-HKN.

The awards will be presented at a special reception held on19 March 2018, in conjunction with the Annual Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Heads Association (ECEDHA) meeting; in Monterrey, California.  At the Awards Dinner immediately following the reception, the 2017 Alton B. Zerby and Carl T. Koerner Outstanding Student Award will be presented to Katelyn Brinker of the IEEE-HKN Gamma Theta Chapter at Missouri University of Science & Technology, and James Smith of the IEEE-HKN Xi Chapter at Auburn University.


 About IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu

Founded as Eta Kappa Nu in 1904 at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, then changed to IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu (IEEE-HKN) following a merger with IEEE in 2010, IEEE-HKN is the academic honor society for those studying the IEEE fields of interest, including electrical and computer engineering.

IEEE-HKN annually inducts over 3,000 students, faculty and professionals and has more than 200,000 alumni. The Society has chapters at more than 230 colleges and universities in the United States and around the world. Membership for students is by invitation only to those that possess outstanding academic achievement, character and attitude.

IEEE-HKN’s mission is to be the catalyst for the development of the “Complete Technical Professional.” Notable members include co-founder of Apple Inc. Steve Wozniak, “Father of the Internet” Vint Cerf, co-founder of Google Larry Page, and co-founder and Chairman Emeritus of Intel Corporation Gordon Moore.

For more information about IEEE-HKN, please visit www.hkn.org or call 732-465-6611.

About IEEE
IEEE is the world’s largest professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. Through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities, IEEE is the trusted voice on a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power and consumer electronics.

Learn more at http://www.ieee.org.

Leave a Reply

IEEE Eta Kappa Nu