The Distinguished Service Award was initiated in 1971 to recognize those members who have devoted years of service to Eta Kappa Nu (or IEEE-HKN), resulting in significant benefits to all of the society’s members. The award is based on lifetime contributions to Eta Kappa Nu (or IEEE-HKN) and is limited to one recipient each year.

Deadline to nominate someone: the first Monday after 30 April each year (Self-nominations are not accepted.)

Prize: Plaque

Award purpose

“Inspiration for the Award” dates back to 1939 when Maurice Carr, the founder of HKN, wrote, “Eta Kappa Nu grew because there always have been many members who were willing and eager to serve it loyally and unselfishly. I would like to see some form of recognition conferred upon members who have rendered such service to HKN.”

Award Sub-Committee

  • J. David Irwin, Chair
  • Bruce Eisenstein
  • John Orr
  • Steve E. Watkins

Nominating Someone for the Award

To nominate someone for this award, please use this Nomination Portal. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Award Recipients

2023John DeGraw
2022Dr. Karen A. Panetta
2021Steve E. Watkins
2020Bruce Eisenstein
2019John Orr
2018Stephen M. Goodnick
2016Dave Soldan

2014Alan Willson
2006Quayne Gennaro
2005David Meyer
2004James A. D’Arcy
2003Robert F. Arehart
2002Alan Lefkow
2001Donald Christiansen
2000John A. Tucker
1999Thomas L. Rothwell
1986Marcus Dodson
1985Tony Gabrielle
1981Berthold Sheffield
1979W.T. Burnett
Paul K. Hudson
John E. Farley
Leyland A. Spangler
1977Everitt S. Lee
1976Larry Dwon
1975Carl T. Koerner
1974C. Holmes MacDonald
1973Clifford A. Faust
1972Roger I. Wilkinson
1971Alton B. Zerby

View All Awards

View Now