University of Missouri-Columbia, Iota Chapter

The Eta Kappa Nu Iota Chapter was chartered 12 June 1911 as the eighth HKN chapter and it is one of the oldest engineering organizations at the University of Missouri-Columbia or Mizzou. The host department is the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) Department in the College of Engineering. The college displays an electric dynamo gifted to the university from Thomas Edison in 1883. The Iota chapter actively inducts undergraduates and graduate students in disciplines of electrical engineering, computer engineering, and computer science.

Region 5: South Western USA

Section: Columbia, MO (Saint Louis)

Founding Date: June 12, 1911

Update Now
Columbia, Missouri U.S.A.

The University of Missouri-Columbia or MU was founded in 1839 as the first public institution of higher learning west of the Mississippi River. This flagship campus of the University of Missouri System is known by the nickname “Mizzou” and has a mascot Truman the Tiger. MU is a member of the Association of American Universities and is Missouri’s largest university. MU was one of the earliest institutions to offer Electrical Engineering; the Electrical Engineering Department was organized in 1885. The current Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) Department offers programs in electrical engineering, computer engineering, and computer science. EECS is one of six academic departments within the College of Engineering. Columbia is located in central Missouri.

Chapter Photos

what chapter members are saying

Eta Kappa Nu is a unique membership organization dedicated to encouraging and recognizing excellence in the electrical and computer engineering fields. Eta Kappa Nu is more than an honor society. In addition to bestowing honor on deserving students, it is dedicated to serving the Electrical and Computer Engineering profession as well as society as a whole.

-Iota Chapter