A scholastic honor society, IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu has numerous award programs designed to promote and encourage educational excellence in electrical and computer engineering. These awards recognize outstanding accomplishments by students, professors, and industry professionals who make significant contributions to society, and who exemplify a balance of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. IEEE-HKN encourages Chapters and individuals to nominate all eligible candidates. For a full list of IEEE Educational Activities Board awards, visit EAB Awards.

Awards and Recognitions offered

Outstanding Chapter Award

The IEEE-HKN Board of Governors created the OCA to recognize excellence in chapter administration and programs. The award was changed recently so that all chapters, large or small, judged to have exemplary programs, have a chance of being selected.

Chapter Report Form

Deadline to submit applications: 30 September

Alton B. Zerby and Carl T. Koerner Outstanding Student Award

This award recognizes outstanding scholastic excellence and high moral character, coupled with demonstrated exemplary service to classmates, university, community, and country. This program is administered by the Los Angeles Area alumni chapter.

Deadline to submit applications: 30 June

Outstanding Young Professional Award

The Outstanding Young Professional (OYP) Award—formerly the Outstanding Young Electrical Engineer (OYEE) Award—has been presented annually since 1936. It is presented to exceptional young engineers who have demonstrated significant accomplishments in their career.

Deadline to submit applications: 06 May

C. Holmes MacDonald Outstanding Teaching Award

Each spring, IEEE-HKN invites all chapters to nominate an electrical/computer engineering professor for the C. Holmes MacDonald Outstanding Teaching Award.

Deadline to submit applications: 06 May

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was initiated in 1971 to recognize those members who have devoted years of service to Eta Kappa Nu (or IEEE-HKN), resulting in significant benefits to all of the society’s members. The award is based on lifetime contributions to Eta Kappa Nu (or IEEE-HKN) and is limited to one recipient each year.

Deadline to submit applications: 06 May

Vladimir Karapetoff Outstanding Technical Achievement Award (Retired)

(Award Status: Retired 2019)

Nominations deadline

Awards Nomination Deadline Committee Chair
Distinguished Service Award 06 May J. David Irwin
Outstanding Young Professional Award 06 May Jamal Madni
Outstanding Teaching Award 06 May Stephen Phillips
Alton B. Zerby and Carl T. Koerner Outstanding Student Award 30 June John DeGraw
Outstanding Chapter Award 30 September Ed Rezek
Eminent Member Rolling H. Vincent Poor

Nominations deadline

See a full list of deadlines for all awards.

View Now